FIFA football awards: Ronaldo beats messi as men's player of the year, see full list

FIFA football awards: Ronaldo beats messi as men's player of the year, see full list

Cristiano Ronaldo beat Lionel Messi and Neymar as the Men's Player of the Year for the second time in a row at Fifa's Best Football Awards 2017 which was held at London, England on Monday night.


The ceremony - which took place at the London Palladium - is the second since the Fifa award once again split from France Football's Ballon d'Or prize last year.

On recieving the award Ronaldo said, "Thank you a lot to the guys for voting for me, (I want) To give a mention to Leo and Neymar to be here, Real Madrid supporters, my team-mates, my coach, my president - they support me all the year so I have to say thank you to them."We are in England for the first time and I win consecutive awards. This is a great moment for me."

Lieke Martens wins Fifa women's player of the year. She was sensational in Holland’s stunning run to Euro 2017 glory. Though she wasnt present at the event, she has ealier been presented her award and gave a speech stating reasons for her absence. 

See full list of winners:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player
Cristiano Ronaldo
The Best FIFA Women’s Player
Lieke Martens
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
Zinedine Zidane
The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
Sarina Wiegman
The Best FIFA Goalkeeper
Gianluigi Buffon
The FIFA Puskás Award
Olivier Giroud
The FIFA Fan Award
The FIFA Fair Play Award
Francis Kone
The Best FIFPro XI:
Buffon (Juventus), Dani Alves (PSG), Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan), Sergio Ramos, Marcelo (Real Madrid),
Luka Modric, Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Andreas Iniesta (Barcelona), Neymar (PSG), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).



By Olanrewaju Rabiu

Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: