Nigeria announces jersey numbers for World Cup

Nigeria announces jersey numbers for World Cup

The Nigeria Football Federation on Monday morning announced the Super Eagles jersey numbers for the 2018 World Cup, with four players that are not guaranteed starters named in the first eleven.

Enyimba goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa will suit up with the number one jersey, Monaco's Elderson Echiejile gets the number three kit, Las Palmas' Oghenekaro Etebo will wear the number eight jersey and Ahmed Musa retains his number seven shirt.

Everything indicates that former Watford star Odion Ighalo will lead the Super Eagles attack in Russia after he was handed the iconic number nine shirt, ahead of Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo and Kelechi Iheanacho.

Central defenders William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun will wear the number five and six shirts respectively, a strong hint that they will start against Croatia on June 16.

Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi has been given the honour of wearing the hallowed number four jersey, previously worn by Nigeria greats Stephen Keshi (1994) and Nwankwo Kanu (1998, 2002 and 2010) at the World Cups.

Though Chelsea star Victor Moses has been given the number 11 jersey, he is unlikely to play from the left wing in Nigeria's World Cup opener.

Nigeria World Cup Squad Numbers

1) Ikechukwu Ezenwa

2) Brian Idowu

3) Elderson Echiejile

4) Wilfred Ndidi

5) William Troost-Ekong

6) Leon Balogun

7) Ahmed Musa

8) Oghenekaro Etebo

9) Odion Ighalo

10) Obi Mikel

11) Victor Moses

12) Abdullahi Shehu

13) Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo

14) Kelechi Iheanacho

15) Joel Obi

16) Daniel Akpeyi

17) Eddy Onazi

18) Alex Iwobi

19) John Ogu

20) Chidozie Awaziem

21) Tyronne Ebuehi

22) Kenneth Omeruo

23 ) Francis Uzoho

Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: