Galaxy Television Menu

Oyo Govt Approves Minimum Wage for State-Owned Tertiary Institutions

Oyo Govt Approves Minimum Wage for State-Owned Tertiary Institutions

The Oyo state government has signed an agreement with governing councils and representatives of all tertiary institutions in the state for the payment of new minimum wage effective from January 2020.

The approval is in line with the federal government circular on minimum wage and National Salaries and Wages Commission. 

The Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Barrister Olasunkanmi Olaleye, in a brief remark shortly after signing the agreement at the conference room of the state ministry of education maintained that the development has finally laid to rest all forms of disagreements emanating from the new minimum wage in the state.

Olaleye argued that despite the state government agreement with all tertiary institutions in the state, the negotiating team of The Polytechnic of Ibadan wanted the state government to adopt Lagos state structure which according to him remains a violation of the law leading to a disagreement.

He expressed excitement at the peaceful resolution after signing the agreement noting that Governor Seyi Makinde is not just a leader but a listening one with a very large heart adding that arrears of the new salaries have also been backdated to January 2020 by the Governor.

The Chairman, Joint Action Committee (JAC) of all tertiary institutions in Oyo state, Comrade Segun Oyewumi, in his remark commended Governor Seyi Makinde for his genuineness and love for Oyo workers in the state while the Chairman, Governing Council of The Polytechnic Ibadan, Professor Adekunle Akinyemi, while speaking with newsmen briefly after signing the agreement for the new minimum wage, explained that the development means a lot to the institution.




Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: