Man City Win Premier League Title

Man City Win Premier League Title

Manchester City secured their second Premier League title in three seasons after goals from Samir Nasri and captain Vincent Kompany saw them stroll to victory over West Ham.

Manuel Pellegrini's side knew a point would confirm they had regained the crown - but goals either side of the interval from Nasri and Kompany ensured the formalities were completed with barely an anxious moment in front an ecstatic packed house at Etihad Stadium.

iverpool's home defeat to Chelsea and the late collapse at Crystal Palace opened the door for City and they took advantage ruthlessly by winning their last five games.

And for 60-year-old Chilean Pellegrini, it marked a triumphant conclusion to his first season in charge after he was brought in to replace sacked Roberto Mancini and entrusted with returning the title to the club.

With 102 league goals and that two-point final margin, no-one can begrudge City a success that is richly merited, for all Liverpool's efforts this season.

As referee Martin Atkinson sounded the final whistle and confirmation of the title, City's fans rushed on to the pitch in their thousands and celebrated before retreating to allow captain Kompany to lift the trophy once more.

Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: